I had a dream rich in symbolism and I'd like to know what you all think it means

NightJack

Hello DreamForum members,

I would like to share with you a dream I had a couple weeks ago that has really stuck with me. It felt like something was trying to be communicated to my conscious and I'd like to know how you would interpret this. I've done a lot of reading up on the various symbols present, but some are not available at all while others are very contextually dependant and I'm new at interpreting dreams.

This is the dream I had:

I'm on a beautiful beach with my wife and young son. The water is calm and I decide to go wade in the surf. I take a few steps into the water and everything changes. At first I thought the water was drawing back for a very large wave to crash on me. Where I had been in knee deep water, I am suddenly standing on wet sand with barely my feet covered. A large wave formed, about twice my height, then stopped. then I realised that there was still water between the beach and myself, though not deep. The waters had parted leaving a long path parallel to the shoreline I could walk along. The wall of water had a smooth surface and I could see into the deep. I knew there was a danger inside though I did not know quite what.

I then heard a few dolphins clicking and chirping. One of the dolphins pushed a large dead alligator out of the water and onto the shore. On the back of the alligator there was a human skeleton sitting like it had been riding the alligator. It began to animate with some jerky dancing movements.

I turned my attention back to the wall of water and could see a very large and colorful tropical fish swimming near the edge of the water wall and seemed to be looking at me. It swam away and I turned again towards the beach.